Global Growth & Strategy·Localization Best Practices

What is linguistic quality assurance (LQA) and how to create a process

Valentyna Kozlova,Updated on February 4, 2026·14 min read
Creating an LQA process

Poor translations = bad user experience, brand erosion, costly/embarrassing mistakes, and potential legal issues. 

This is why linguistic quality assurance (LQA) is so important. It’s a system of processes that ensures your translated content is error-free. But what does an LQA process look like and how do you create one? What tools can you use to facilitate this process?

Before we continue, let’s explain what LQA is and why it matters.

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What is linguistic quality assurance (LQA)

Linguistic quality assurance (LQA) is the process of evaluating the linguistic accuracy and quality of translated content. It involves checking:

  • Grammar and syntax: Checks that the translated content is free of spelling, grammar, and punctuation errors.
  • Terminology: Verifies the correct usage of industry-specific or technical terms to maintain consistency.
  • Cultural relevance: Ensures the content is culturally appropriate and resonates with the target audience in their native language.
  • Functionality: Checks the overall usability of the final product to ensure compatibility with local systems.

The stakes for mistranslations can be high when you’re entering a new market. Mercedes-Benz’s launch campaign in China is a great case study for this.

When the company decided to enter the Chinese market in 2009, they settled on “奔死” which reads as “bensi” — a term that phonetically sounds like “Benz.” However, the characters roughly translate to “rush to die.” Mercedes was unknowingly telling its customers to pass away. 

Mercedes could’ve avoided the embarrassment of mistranslating its name with some simple due diligence, which is where LQA comes in.

⚡Build your localization quality assurance program

Find experts’ take and hands-on advice on setting up your LQA program from the ground up.

What matters isn’t the language — it’s the user that consumes the language

For people working in localization, it’s obvious why translation quality matters. It’s the key that unlocks great multilingual customer experience. 

The problem? Most internal stakeholders don’t view it this way. 

The key to getting people to care is refocusing our attention on the primary objective of a linguistic quality program: providing a great customer experience for end users around the globe.

Nataly Kelly, VP of Localization at HubSpot has a great way of reframing how we talk about translation quality:

Instead of saying: Machine translation alone won’t work for this scenario, because translation quality will suffer. We should say: Machine translation alone won’t work for this scenario, or customer experience will suffer. 

Deprioritizing translation quality = deprioritizing customer experience. That’s how you should frame it when talking to your colleagues in customer support, product, marketing, and sales.

Defining and categorizing translation errors in the LQA process

Broadly speaking, a translation error is any lack of consistency between the source and target text. We divide errors into objective or subjective mistakes. Here are some examples of both:

Subjective errorsObjective errors
  • Literal translations are used to describe a word-for-word translation of the source text.
  • Mistranslations are incorrect translations that mislead readers.
  • Undertranslation is giving less information in the translation than is in the source text.
  • Overtranslation is giving more information in the translation than is in the source text.
  • Missing translations are sections that have not been translated from the source language.
  • Spelling, grammatical, and syntax errors are any mistakes in the spelling of words or sentence structure of a translated text.
  • Glossary and terminology inconsistencies are the incorrect or inconsistent use of certain terms.

Now, the bigger question is: How do you categorize these types of errors when localizing content? 

Here, we can take a page out of Slack's localization playbook. It follows three bug categories for translation errors:

  • Functional: These issues include errors, such as cut-off sentences or words or phrases that show up in English instead of the target language. These types of errors are sent to the engineering and design teams to address.
  • Linguistic: These types of errors include typos, grammatical errors, and misplaced placeholders. When you’re translating meaning rather than words, linguistic issues can also include not respecting style guides and brand voice.
  • Won’t fix: These include issues with placeholders and text rendering in English (or the source language instead of the chosen locale). It’s important to categorize these because you don’t want to waste time and money on reporting a missing translation if it’s just a bug.

Defining the categories for translation errors and educating stakeholders is important so that when errors occur, the right person can escalate the issue appropriately.

Slack LQA example

And then what? Building the LQA process, team, and systems

Once you’ve made a commitment to creating a great multilingual customer experience and have clearly categorized translation errors, build the processes for error handling, translation review, and continuous improvement. 

Let’s look at the three core components of LQA essential for a flawless launch in a new language/market.

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1. Process

Your LQA process should focus on setting quality expectations and tracking user reactions to make sure the translated content creates a real impact.

Keep these things in mind when building your LQA process:

Define your style guide

Translation quality is often subjective. A translated text may sound fine to one person but unnatural to another. Remove subjectivity in the translation process by creating a well-defined style guide. This will lead to consistent terminology use and maintain your brand voice across translated works.

How to create a style guide for human and AI translators - Lokalise Blog

Address challenges for new languages

When launching in a new language, do a kickoff overview for cross-functional teams on what they need to know about the market. 

Addressing a lot of potential challenge points (e.g., date and time formatting, or plurals and possessives) and sharing some initial knowledge of the language will make it easier to address them as work begins. 

Track, measure, and improve 

LQA scores are calculated based on the number of mistakes made in a translation, as judged by a linguist.

User research using surveys and focus groups is the most effective method of improving your translation quality. Work with your UX team to include the multilingual customer experience in their research.  

2. Team

Once your company has the right processes in place, you need the right people to continually refine them and make improvements. Team structure varies wildly from company to company, but the localization process typically involves four primary groups of stakeholders.

Localization Process in 9 Steps | Lokalise

Here’s how each of them can impact quality: 

  1. Designers and software developers: Designing and building your product and ensuring it looks and feels how it should resonate with your global customers. Developers are also responsible for initiating the localization process by adding string identifiers (i.e., keys) to the product code, as well as fixing bugs and taking full care of the back-end of your digital product.
  2. Product, project, and localization managers: Educating all stakeholders in the localization process about your product while also identifying requirements, tools, technologies, and the overall strategy.
  3. Copywriters and translators: Preparing all the content that needs to be localized and/or participating in transcreation to ensure it’s well adapted to the target market.
  4. QA specialists and reviewers: Establishing a rigorous review process through proofreading and localization testing in order to deliver the agreed translation quality.

💪 Build a strong localization team

You don’t need all these stakeholders to create an efficient translation process. Learn more about what you need for strategically building a localization team.

3. Systems and tools

Usually, translation workflows are managed using a patched-together, siloed system that relies heavily on good old spreadsheets. 

Mario Pluzny, currently the Localization Program Manager at Twitter, shares the biggest challenge around ensuring quality without the right tools and processes:

The quality of global content cannot be assured without everyone looking at the same source. I think that versioning is one of the biggest challenges we face in localization. Even once things are in translation, the English source will often still change. The use of a translation management system (TMS) will allow you to make changes more easily.

Here’s what a typical quality review workflow looks like when using a TMS like Lokalise, a localization platform designed to track and manage your entire translation pipeline in one place:

  1. Create custom statuses to identify multiple review steps (e.g., copywriting review, subject matter expert review, regulatory review, internal quality checks, etc.)
  2. Add internal and external project contributors as team members
  3. Enable automated notifications for changes like translations being updated or reviewed, keys added or modified, tasks created or closed, and more
  4. Apply filters for new empty keys that require translation, and unverified keys, where the source has been updated and translations require updates
  5. Apply appropriate custom statuses to the filtered selection of keys using bulk action
  6. Create tasks from the filtered selection of keys
  7. Predefine review cycles by creating chained tasks that will trigger once the previous one is completed

Optimize this workflow by building a layer of automation on top. Build automations in Lokalise to make your localization workflows seamless. What’s more, Lokalise also offers automated spelling and grammar checks for over 20 languages.

Using spelling and grammar checks in Lokalise

A step-by-step LQA process

Now that you have your processes, team, and tools in place, it’s time to put it all together. Here’s a tried-and-tested LQA process to maintain high quality standards for your translations. 

1. Pre-translation preparation

The pre-translation phase is key to successfully launching in a new market and overcoming potential challenges. 

Define project requirements

Outline the scope of the localization project. Who is the target audience and what are the languages involved? Are there any specific guidelines or standards that need to be followed? Be sure to outline the timeline and deliverables of the project.

Next, identify the stakeholders who will make up your localization team. These roles include:

  • Translators
  • Software developers
  • Product and project managers
  • Copywriters and marketers
  • LQA specialists

Make sure that each member understands their responsibilities and how they will contribute to the success of the project.

Prepare reference materials

The last thing you want is to leave your translators to their own devices. 

Provide translators with comprehensive reference materials, such as style guides, glossaries, and other documentation to help them maintain consistency across localization projects. Be sure to identify localization challenges (e.g., using industry-specific terms) and provide guidelines on addressing them.

With Lokalise, you can easily create and share a style guide with your team.

Managing tasks in Lokalise

Translators can access the style guide and track the progress of their work. 

2. Translation phase

Next comes the translation phase.

Pick your team

Look for translators who are fluent in the target language and have a strong understanding of the subject matter. They should be able to provide insights into the linguistic and cultural relevance of the translated content.

Establish a “quality pillar.” This team will be in charge of maintaining quality standards at scale. Develop a scoreboard for each language so that all quality evaluations take place objectively, with clearly defined rules instead of opinions.

For new languages, this pillar will run linguistic quality assurance (LQA) processes, intaking errors and feedback from internal stakeholders, partners, and beta testers.

Use the right tools

Localization projects are coordinated efforts. Without the right tools, project managers and translators can easily lose track of their work.

A TMS like Lokalise can help streamline the localization process, keep your team aligned, and improve visibility across your projects. It even features built-in AI translation and machine translation capabilities. Simply provide context and get natural-sounding translations in just a few clicks.

🔍Find the right TMS for your needs

Check out our top five recommendations for the best translation management systems to choose one that best aligns your localization needs.

3. Review and editing

The review and editing phase is a critical step for preventing translation mistakes.

Perform LQA checks

While machine translations can help you lower localization costs and translate content at scale, the human element is a key component of LQA. Machine translation post-editing (MTPE) combines the efficiency of machine translations with the linguistic expertise that human editors offer.

Linguistic experts should review grammar, syntax, and style. They should also review the cultural relevance of any localized content. In some cases, you may need to call in other experts (e.g., a medical expert to review medical content).

Of course, human reviewers can still make mistakes. With AI LQA, you can perform an LQA check on your translations and it will automatically identify linguistic issues. The tool even provides AI suggestions.

Examples of AI suggestions in Lokalise's AI LQA

Implement revisions

Consider bringing on actual users to do a “test run” of your content. Collect their feedback and make any necessary revisions to correct errors or inconsistencies. Make sure to update your style guides and other reference materials. 

4. Functional testing

Functional testing involves ensuring that translated content works in the intended context.

Check website functionality

Translating text to another language can “break” existing designs. For example, “Buy now” translates to “Comprar ahora” in Spanish. While the English version can fit inside a button, the Spanish version may not. 

When localizing content, make sure to perform functionality tests. This includes checking that hyperlinks and user interface elements function properly. 

If translations are too long, you can use Lokalise's AI suite to create shorter versions. This helps you quickly generate translations that display properly across different platforms and devices. 

Using Lokalise AI to shorten translations

5. Final approval and sign-off

Before you publish the translations, there are a few things left to do.

Perform a final review

After you conduct an LQA check and implement revisions, you’ll perform a final review and double check that all issues were addressed. 

With a TMS like Lokalise, you can collaborate with your team and keep discussions in one thread. You can also add comments to individual translations.

Comments in Lokalise

Once everything looks good, you can prepare the localization for release and deliver the final product.

6. Post-translation quality checks

Even after performing a final review, your job isn’t done yet.

Monitor user feedback  

Translation mistakes can still fall through the cracks. Get feedback from your users to identify any issues and address them promptly. You’ll also want to collect usage data, so your team can quickly rectify any functionality issues that may impact the user experience.

Assess effectiveness

Remember that LQA is a constant work in progress. How effective was the LQA process? What steps can you improve and make more efficient? Get feedback from the rest of your team and document any lessons learned.

Calculating the ROI of linguistic quality assurance

Here’s our advice on building a business case for your LQA program to secure stakeholder buy-in and a suitable budget.

📊The LQA ROI formula

ROI = (Value created by LQA - Cost of LQA program) / Cost of LQA program × 100

Keep this formula in mind to document the right data for calculating your localization quality ROI.

Step 1: Calculate your total LQA costs

Document everything you're spending on quality assurance. This could include:

Direct LQA costs

  • Translation management system
  • Third-party LQA vendor fees 
  • Linguist review hours 
  • QA tool subscriptions 

Indirect LQA costs

  • Product manager time spent coordinating reviews
  • Engineering hours fixing localization bugs
  • Designer time making UI adjustments for text expansion
  • Localization project management overhead

Step 2: Quantify the value LQA creates

Your LQA program creates value in two ways: by saving costs and improving revenue. Estimate the value of your LQA setup by tracking metrics under these two buckets. 

For instance, localization quality assurance can save money spent on:

  • Re-translation costs: Consider the number of translation errors your LQA process catches before launch. Each error fixed pre-launch is significantly cheaper than fixing it after customers see it.
  • Support tickets: Track translation-related support tickets by locale before and after implementing LQA. Poor translations generate confusion and customer service volume.
  • Developer time: Measure engineering hours spent fixing localization bugs. LQA catches issues like text overflow, broken formatting, and placeholder errors before they reach production.

At the same time, your LQA program can also improve your bottom line by:

  • Higher conversion rate: Compare conversion rates (checkout, signup, free trial) by locale before and after LQA review. Poor translations directly impact whether users complete key actions.
  • Lower customer churn: Measure churn rate by language market. Customers who struggle with poorly localized products are more likely to cancel or switch to competitors.
  • Faster time-to-market: Track how quickly you reach adoption milestones in new language markets. Quality localization reduces the friction that slows early growth.

While most of these metrics might not have a direct value you can track, work with estimations to calculate the ROI.

Step 3: Calculate your LQA ROI 

Now combine your costs and value metrics into a compelling business case. Here’s an example to see this calculation in action.

Monthly LQA costs: $7,500 (Annual: $90,000)

  • LQA vendor: $3,000/month
  • TMS QA features: $500/month
  • 40 hours/month linguist review @ $75/hour: $3,000
  • 10 hours/month PM coordination @ $100/hour: $1,000

Value created: $262,900/year

  • Re-translation costs avoided: $90,000
  • Support cost reduction: $14,400
  • Developer time saved: $22,500
  • Conversion rate improvements: $50,000
  • Churn reduction: $36,000
  • Market penetration gains: $50,000

Annual LQA ROI = ($262,900 - $90,000) / $90,000 × 100 = 192% ROI

That means, for every dollar spent on LQA, you earn $2.92 back in value.
 

💡Learn how to prove localization ROI

Not sure how to calculate the value of your localization efforts to prove its ROI? 

Catch this insightful webinar featuring Alex Terehov (Senior Product Manager at Lokalise) and Kevin O'Donnell (CEO of Global10x) to position localization as a revenue driver.

5 LQA best practices to scale your program

Performing LQA checks on your translated content isn’t always an easy process. Follow these best practices to set yourself up for success.

Engage stakeholders early and often

Identify the key stakeholders, including project managers, marketing teams, and product owners. Maintain regular communication throughout the LQA process. Set clear objectives and define the scope of the project to keep everyone on the same page.

Utilize collaborative platforms

Localization projects have a lot of moving parts, making it difficult to keep track of everything. 

With Lokalise, you can manage your translations, track progress, and share feedback in real-time from one place. These features enable efficient collaboration throughout the localization process.

As your team grows, you can add and manage users and assign different roles.

Adding team users in Lokalise

Standardize quality metrics

Define quality metrics to maintain uniform quality across your localization projects. Examples include:

  • Accuracy
  • Quality score
  • Cultural appropriateness

Standardizing localization metrics

Create a scoring system to quantify different aspects of the localization quality. Standardize the review process and provide training to ensure reviewers consistently follow the system.

Automate repetitive tasks

Your time can be better spent elsewhere instead of performing the same tasks. With automations in Lokalise, you can automate your workflows and reduce turnaround times. This means linguists can focus on the more complex and nuanced aspects of localizing content.

Promote a quality-focused culture

Foster a culture that prioritizes quality at each step of the localization process. Encourage your team to take ownership of quality and provide regular training to enhance their skills. Be sure to also recognize and reward those who contribute to maintaining high linguistic quality.

How Lokalise can help streamline your LQA process

Ultimately, language quality shouldn’t be treated as another checkbox to complete at the end of a project. More than a review step for translations, you need a “quality mindset” (and the right tools) that include language as a key component of the end-product experience. 

Here’s how Lokalise can help.

With Lokalise, you can apply translation memory — a database of approved translations for common sentence pairs — and pre-translate target languages that meet certain thresholds (e.g., 95% match).

Translation memory in Lokalise

Using translation memory eliminates the need to translate the same phrases.

The stakes are high when localizing for a global market. Poor localizations can damage your brand reputation and affect the user experience.

Lokalise includes a host of QA checks that automatically check for things like:

  • Grammatical errors
  • Inconsistent placeholders
  • Different numbers
  • Trailing spaces
  • Double spaces

And more.

You can also use AI LQA to automatically identify linguistic issues and have it generate a detailed report with detected errors and their severity levels.

AI LQA reports in Lokalise

Finally, Lokalise provides automation tools that save your team valuable time and keep your localization projects moving in the right direction. For example, you can set a rule that translates assets in Figma using machine translation without leaving the design tool. This is just one example of how you can use automation in Lokalise to speed up your workflows.

Build an LQA process that delivers quality translations 

Expanding into new markets can help your company reach more customers and unlock revenue opportunities. But as we’ve seen with Mercedes, any mishaps in the localization process can reflect poorly on your company. The right processes combined with tools like Lokalise can help you create an LQA process that delivers accurate and culturally appropriate content. 

Start a free 14-day trial of Lokalise or check out our interactive product tour.

Global Growth & Strategy·Localization Best Practices

Author

valentyna.jpeg

Product Manager

Valentyna is a Product Manager at Lokalise. She has 15 years of experience in the language service industry as a translator, project manager, quality expert, LSP owner, and localization tool product person. Her interests include podcasting, productivity, and strength training.

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